Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

April 8, 2024

The Public Hearing for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission is scheduled on Thursday, May 9, 2024, with the hearing commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court Seat 3

The Honorable Ralph K. Anderson, III, Columbia, SC The Honorable Blake A. Hewitt, Conway, SC The Honorable Deadra L. Jefferson, Charleston, SC The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, Spartanburg, SC The Honorable Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, SC The Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Greenville, SC

Persons desiring to testify at the public hearing shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **12:00 Noon, Thursday, April 25, 2024**.

Witness affidavit forms and further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission are available on our website at: <u>https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php</u>

Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel